Unlikely foods that contain gluten

Processed Meats

Deli and processed meats like salami can often contain modified starches (containing gluten) to help bind the ingredients together. You might also find gluten hiding in your favourite Californian sushi roll. The so called “crab meat” that they use isn’t real crab and contains wheat — so sneaky!

Sauces & Condiments

Many condiments like tomato sauce, mustard, gravy and salad dressings contain wheat and starch to help thicken the product. So look on the label for “modified food starch”.

Liquorice

This definitely doesn’t look like bread, but yes, it too contains gluten found in its wheat ingredients.

Soy Sauce

You might have thought soy sauce was made from soy beans, but think again it’s got wheat! If gluten is out you can buy gluten-free soy or try tamari sauce for a good alternative.

Pickles

Did you guess these? Pickles are often made from malt vinegar, which is a by product of gluten.

Lollies

Unfortunately hard lollies also contains the gluten protein found in wheat, rye, and barley. But if you’ve got a sweet tooth don’t worry, there are gluten-free products out there.

Alcohol

Many beers are not gluten- free, so it’s best to steer clear from beer made from wheat, barley and rye. Malt and malt flavouring also contain gluten and distilled alcohols like vodka might also be made from wheat. But wine drinkers are in the clear because they’re made from grapes. Cider is also made from fermenting apples so most of these drinks should be gluten-free.

Stephanie Ayre

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on pinterest
Pinterest
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on email
Email